May 19

HELL-Human Remains (2011)


If Dante’s Divine Comedy would ever have a soundtrack, the Inferno chapter would be dedicated to the entire Human Remains album by British NWOHM band HELL. They rocked hard back in the 80’s but with the falling apart of their label and the suicide of their original guitar player and singer David Halliday the band just fell off the grid. But now they are back, and with the help of producer and guitar player Andy Sneap who was contacted by the reunited band to re-record their old material, and Andy as an old fan of the band didn’t turn out the gig, he produced the album and even joined the band as guitar player, and with the inclusion of David Bower on vocals the band recorded Human Remains.

the album from the beginning presents itself with a dark aura and a chilling sound as the devil himself were playing each instrument, tracks like On Earth As It Is In Hell, Plague And Fyre and The Devil’s Deadly Weapon are proof of that. with an occultist touch and the adding of very disturbing clips that gave the album that Dante’s essence, which could be admired in songs like Macbeth, Blasphemy and the Master and The Quest made this trip to HELL even hotter. But the track that got my attention the most was; Save Us From Those Who Would Save Us, a slap in the face to the Catholic church in the subject of child abuse by priests.

Besides the devilish contents mentioned above, the theatrical voice of David Bower gave the album a powerful touch to the album and the guitar work of Snaps is really impressive. Human Remains could be considered one of the best releases this year so far, and HELL could be easily the coming back band of 2011.

Power Tracks: Save Us From Those Who Would Save Us, Blasphemy and the Master, The Devil’s Deadly Weapon, On Earth As It Is In Hell, The Oppressors

Slow Tracks: Macbeth, No Martyrs Cage

Track Listing:
01. Overture Themes From Deathsquad 1:14
02. On Earth As It Is In Hell 5:09
03. Plague And Fyre 5:09
04. The Oppressors 5:53
05. Blasphemy And The Master 8:11
06. Let Battle Commence 4:23
07. The Devils Deadly Weapon 10:14
08. The Quest 4:21
09. Macbeth 7:21
10. Save Us From Those Who Would Save Us 5:05
11. No Martyrs Cage 9:00

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post