Jan 26

Australian ‘negative metal’ act REBEL WIZARD unleash “Ease of Wretchedness and Wonder”

DIMMU BORGIR - Interdimensional Summit

Negative metal act REBEL WIZARD will reissue the maniacal sounds of their most recent full-length album, “Triumph Of Gloom”, via PROSTHETIC RECORDS on February 24, 2017.

A creation from Australian musician NKSV, who’s most well-known for his work with the black metal/noise group Nekrasov, REBEL WIZARD’s delivery is difficult to sum up with one simple label. While containing traces of black and thrash metal roots, with a touch of NWOBHM and the epicness of power metal, NKSV has coined the term “negative metal” to describe REBEL WIZARD’s unique output. Negative metal, as defined by NKSV, is an, “anarchic alchemical process of outsider energies respecting the power of traditional triumphant metal into a unique sound to smash out the coerced gloom and banality of our times.” The term is not meant to be construed with the sense of depression or nihilism, but instead to focus on self-negation, a doing away of limiting one’s full potential by limiting oneself to a category or label. REBEL WIZARD seeks to destroy any hindrance of this sort with triumphant pounding fists.

Described as, “an electrifying, high-intensity collection of absolutely masterful riffs and scintillating lead guitar pyrotechnics, organized into songs that are powerfully addictive from the very first listen” in a review by No Clean Singing, “Triumph Of Gloom” will include a previously unheard bonus track, “Defenders Of The Gloom.”

Take a listen to their single “Ease Of Wretchedness And Wonder” currently streaming at Terrorizer.com HERE or directly below via YouTube.

REBEL WIZARD’s “Triumph Of Gloom” is now available on CD, digital, and limited edition vinyl on blue/burgundy/black swirl variants

North America – store.prostheticrecords.com/b/rebel-wizard

“Triumph Of Gloom” Track Listing:

1. On The Unknown Self They Weep
2. Where We Surrender Completely To The Miserable Shaman
3. Trampled By Wolves And Sheep (LISTEN)
4. Ease Of Wretchedness And Wonder (LISTEN)
5. A Spell Of Sorrow To Relieve The Curse Of Triumph
6. Eat The Warlock
7. Sorcerery
8. Hemorrhage Wonders
9. Defenders Of The Gloom (Bonus Track)

Formed in 2012 by NKSV, REBEL WIZARD acts on instinct and has absorbed the emotional impact of over thirty years of listening to various metal genres to develop his inborn sound heard starting with the release of a self-titled demo in 2013 through five EPs in 2015, a mini-album, and most recent full-length album “Triumph Of Gloom”.


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

THERION - Beloved Antichrist

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post