Mar 30

ZHRINE stream new album, ‘Unortheta’


Icelandic death metal cult ZHRINE are streaming their deadly new album, ‘Unortheta’. The album, hailed as “an imposing, dissonant mass of unorthodox death, heavily atmospheric and weirdly progressive” is streaming exclusively at Noisey.

Regarding the new album, ZHRINE comments:

“It is with great pride in our hearts that we finally unveil the grand statement of chords and chaos that is ‘Unortheta’. This churning collection of dark, etheral, odes to the desperate void has long been yearning to be set free on the unsuspecting public like a tempest of raging atonality in a glass of aural unreason, and today is the day that the deed shall be done.”

‘Unortheta’ is ZHRINE’s debut recording, and will be released worldwide on April 8. The album art, by Zbigniew M. Bielak (WATAIN, BEHEMOTH, GORGUTS, GHOST), and an official track list can be found below. ‘Unortheta’ is available for pre-order at the Season of Mist E-Shop.

1. Utopian Warfare
2. Spewing Gloom
3. The Syringe Dance
4. World
5. Empire
6. The Earth Inhaled
7. Unortheta

ZHRINE have announced an official album release show. The performance sees the band playing ‘Unortheta’ in full on May 25 in London, at Camden’s Black Heart venue. More information about the album release show can be found here.

ZHRINE was founded in Kópavogur, Iceland in 2008, and soon began creating waves in the underground scene under their original name SHRINE, and a unique take on experimental and atmospheric death metal.

ZHRINE have since cut their teeth in the local Icelandic scene, having made multiple appearances at the Eistnaflug Festival, Iceland Airwaves Festival, and Wacken in Germany.

ZHRINE news and updates will be made available through the Season of Mist website, the ZHRINE Facebook page.

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post