Apr 24

Whitechapel – The Somatic Defilement Re-Issue (2013)


Whitechapel - The Somatic Defilement smaller

On April 16, deathcore titans Whitechapel released a re-issue of their vigorous debut, The Somatic Defilement. The album was originally released six years ago on Candlelight Records. The re-issue was released by Metal Blade Records, the label Whitechapel is currently signed on to. The Somatic Defilement is a concept album based on the killings of Jack the Ripper. They took the name “Whitechapel” based on the district in East London where Jack the Ripper hunted. The Somatic Defilement was definitely one of the most ruthless albums that had been released during this time.

The re-issue was mixed by producer Mark Lewis at Audiohammer Studios, and mastered by Alan Douches at West Westside Music. Lewis is most notable for the work he did with some of death metal’s finest releases such as The Black Dahlia Murder’s Nocturnal and Deflorate. Lewis also produced Whitechapel’s self-titled album. Douches mastered several influential acts in death metal such as Cannibal Corpse and Hate Eternal. The re-issue turned out incredible. You can clearly hear the reformed quality of the re-issue, and truly goes beyond today’s standards.

But nonetheless, it’s still The Somatic Defilement. Early Whitechapel fans remember this album as the vicious and jaw-dropping premiere to the ruthless series of Whitechapel’s future releases. The Somatic Defilement definitely put Whitechapel as the dominant force in brutality for their time. This re-issue is an ode to what landed them their stake hold in metal. The improved quality recaptures this deranged album that will forever retain its place in Whitechapel’s powerful discography. But Whitechapel fans don’t think this means no more original music for the band – they’re currently working on a full-length. A release date hasn’t been disclosed.

whitechapel-0957_MAINpromo smaller


1. Necrotizing (Intro) 0:35
2. The Somatic Defilement 5:18
3. Devirgination Studies 3:12
4. Prostatic Fluid Asphyxiation 3:33
5. Fairy Fay 3:34
6. Ear to Ear 3:31
7. Alone in the Morgue 2:55
8. Festering Fiesta 2:30
9. Vicer Exciser 2:53
10. Articulo Mortis 4:04

Genre: Deathcore

Label: Metal Blade Records

Playing Time: 30 minutes


Phil Bozeman — vocals
Ben Savage — lead guitar
Alex Wade — rhythm/lead guitar
Zach Householder — rhythm guitar
Gabe Crisp — bass
Ben Harclerode — drums




If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post