Aug 18



Welsh death metal five-piece, VENOM PRISON, have unveiled the first full track, “Abysmal Agony”, taken from their upcoming album, “Animus”. The album will be released on October 14, 2016 via Prosthetic Records and will be available for pre-order starting on Friday, August 19 at (US) & through (UK/EU) as well as across all digital providers.

Of the new track, vocalist Larissa Stupar comments: ““Animus focuses on the many oppressive forces that, in our view, attempt to control what we say, what we do and what we believe.  Lyrically, Abysmal Agony challenges the norms and values that underpin contemporary society.  It is very apparent that our preconceptions of mental health for example are governed by what society deems to be madness in the first place.  Abysmal Agony sets out to question the parameters and that pre-determination between what is madness and what is sanity.  That isn’t a question that too many people want to ask, but it is a determination that governs our everyday existence.”

Listen to “Abysmal Agony” now on Metal Hammer HERE or  streaming via YouTube diirectly below.

Having first pummeled the jugular of the underground with their self-released demo “Defy The Tyrant” in 2015, VENOM PRISON continued to tear their way through the UK underground with the “The Primal Chaos” 7-inch. Now VENOM PRISON are in the throes of unleashing their debut full length “Animus” on unsuspecting audiences worldwide.


Recorded by Tom Dring at Vagrant Recordings (Dragged Into Sunlight, Electric Wizard), “Animus” is 10 tracks of aural assaulting brutality. VENOM PRISON tackle subjects such as social Darwinism, misogyny, rape culture and the rejection of God and religion. As seen above, the artwork for “Animus” was created by German based legendary artist, Eliran Kantor (Testament, Sigh) who worked closely with Larissa to capture some of the themes of the album.

Stupar elaborates: “The album’s lyrics capture and portray various forms of fighting an oppressive force. One of them struck Eliran’s eye as the most livid out of them all. In Perpetrator Emasculation a rapist is being force-fed his own genitalia. It’s not a secret that death metal art and lyrical content often involve violence against women and we liked the idea of turning the tables. That lyrical segment depicts the title and theme of the record very well and the visual execution makes your flesh crawl with vengeance.

“Animus” Track Listing

1. Syllogism
2. Abysmal Agony (LISTEN)
3. Celestial Patricide
4. Desecration of Human Privilege
5. Corrode The Black Sun
6. Immanetize Eschaton
7. The Exquisite Taste of Selfishness
8. Devoid
9. Perpetrator Emasculation
10. Womb Forced Animus

Following the release of “Animus”, the band will head out on a European tour with Prosthetic labelmates, Trap Them. Having previously shared the stage with bands such as Hatebreed, Anaal Nathrakh, Full of Hell, Dragged Into Sunlight, The Black Dahlia Murder, Between the Buried and Me and more, VENOM PRISON delivers a punishing blend of death metal that makes most landslides look lightweight.


9/9 Tilburg, NL – Incubate Festival
10/14 Koln, DE – Underground #
10/15 Eindhoven, NL – Bloodshed Fest
10/16 Antwerp, BE – Kavka #
10/17 London, UK – Boston Music Room #
10/18 Sheffield, UK – Corporation #
10/19 Birmingham, UK – Rainbow Courtyard #
10/20 Paris, FR – Gibus #
10/21 Zurich, CH – Kings Club #
10/22 Karlsruhe, DE – Stadtmitte #
10/23 Berlin, DE – Cassiopeia #
10/24 Hamburg, DE – Hafenklang #
10/25 Stockholm, SE – Cyklopen #
10/26 Oslo, NO – Bla #
# with Trap Them & Okkultokrati

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post