Jun 06

Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats – Mind Control (2013)


Uncle Acid & the Deadbeats - Mind Control

It was Pablo Picasso that said, “If only we could pull out our brain and use only our eyes”. In the case of Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats latest release, Mind Control, it would be ideal to pull out our brains and use only our ears. This album has a funny way of getting inside a person, igniting a fuzzy metallic sensation inside. Mind Control moves its way from the needle of the record player directly into the organ of corti, the sensory organ of hearing.

The sheer amount of ground this record covers is enough to want to talk on and on about it. Just like an onion that has various layers of skin, rings of diversity – as does Mind Control, taking the mind of the listener to so many different places all while sitting still. From its beginning when the layers are first pulled back to its final notes, Mind Control consumes while it spins. With nebulous guitar tone and vocals that are almost like a hybrid offspring of Alice Cooper, the record certainly takes the reigns and leads the way.

The opening track ‘Mt. Abraxas’ sets the stage for the album with a style that builds up as the instruments introduce what is to come. Carl Jung, psychologist talked of a character named Abraxas in his book Seven Sermons of the Dead. In Jung’s work Abraxas is a representation of individuation, oneness, and differentiation. The progression of Uncle Acid’s ‘Mt. Abraxas’ into the rest of the tracks on the album encompasses this concept to its full potential. It’s the kind of track that makes you almost immediately sense unique musicianship at its best. Pure individuation and differentiation.

Poison Apple’ is without a doubt one of the catchiest tracks on the album.  It gallops its way to the neck muscles, immediately making a person want to move their head around to the sound. (In fact, it was hard for me to not want to get up and dance a little upon first hearing it). ‘Death Valley Blues’ is reminiscent of a Beatles track if they ever went down a slightly darker path. With a sound comparable to the act of watching clouds pass by, its whimsical progressions glide along as it soothes just like a painkiller.

A very notable track on the album is one of the closing songs, ‘Valley of the Dolls’. It truly takes over the mind; every crash of the cymbals is engrossing as the song carries itself onward. A high level of fascination is strong as every note of the song tries to put the puzzle together in the brain of the listener. The drug-laden sound of Dean Millar’s bass is enough to take a person back to a time when dreams are most vivid and real, dithering between REM sleep and total unconsciousness.

It’s safe to say that this record could have been released in the late 1970’s when the heavy weights of the genre were all releasing their classics. Already out on Rise Above Records, Uncle Acid’s third full length Mind Control is a “must have” kind of record. Perfect just in time for summer, grab some hard alcohol and a couple of friends and go soak out in the sun by the pool. Your ears will thank you.

Track listing:

  1. Mt. Abraxas
  2. Mind Crawler
  3. Poison Apple
  4. Desert Ceremony
  5. Evil Love
  6. Death Valley Blues
  7. Follow The Leader
  8. Valley of the Dolls
  9. Devil’s Work

Genre: Psychedelic Rock/Doom Metal

Record Label: Rise Above Records

Playing Time: 50 minutes


  • Dean Millar – Bass
  • Thomas Mowforth – Drums
  • Yotam Rubinger – Guitars, Vocals (backing)
  • Uncle Acid – Guitars (lead), Organs, Vocals





If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post