Jun 11

The Devil’s Blood – III: Tabula Rasa or Death and the Seven Pillars (2013)



Tabula Rasa: meaning blank slate in Latin is the epistemological theory that individuals are born without built-in mental content and that the knowledge of a human comes from experience and observation.

Dutch band The Devil’s Blood third (and posthumous) release,  III: Tabula Rasa or Death and the Seven Pillars is one of those albums that you want to approach with a blank slate. Allow yourself to come into it with an open mind; let it do its magic all on its own. This isn’t an album you want to experience while distracted. Don’t listen while the TV is on or press play while you’re preoccupied with a task. This is the kind of record that deserves a person’s full, undivided attention. Let the notes get inside of you and get trapped in between them.

When it comes to The Devil’s Blood, a good way to describe them is by imagining Black Sabbath and Roky Erickson having a child together – that baby would be this band personified. With a richly infused sound that’s a mix of 60’s and 70’s underground psychedelic rock and experimental rock ‘n roll, this band has always brought a hell of a lot to the table. This latest record as a whole acts as a soundtrack to a meditative, Zen like state.  It lowers the blood pressure and takes weight off the mind.

The opening track to the album, ‘I Was Promised a Hunt’ is a powerful 22-minute introduction to not only the mood of the album but a reiteration of The Devil’s Blood style and sound as well. There’s a guitar solo five minutes into the song that is as libidinous as it is transfixing.  The harmonies on this song are alluring, prevailing occult rock at its finest. The back and forth female and male vocal exchanges add to the beauty of the song overall.

…If Not a Vessel?’ should be the active definition for what a feel good song is. The guitar solos create a deep and expansive ocean that splashes its waves back and forth. The drums interweave themselves in the melodies that fill every inch of the room like warm sun coming through a window. The chromatic vocals drape a velvety cloak over the every part of the song, creating a feel that is as smooth as silk. ‘…If Not a Vessel?’ is without a doubt one of the most unique tracks on the album.

The song ‘In the Loving Arms of Lunacy’s Secret Demons’ begins by taking you on a  tranquil journey down a long, lazy river. As the instruments start to play with one another, the song quickly overflows and spills itself over, creating an energy that is so wholly suggestive of another time and place. This song will take you back to places in your mind that you’d never think you’d go. Like being swept up in a really good book, this is the kind of song that will take you out of the present moment and put you somewhere else entirely.

III: Tabula Rasa or Death and the Seven Pillars puts the talent of The Devil’s Blood on display in a way that executes itself so perfectly you’ll be left aching from its goodness.

As stated previously, if you come at this album with a blank slate, the content will reward you mentally, artistically, and almost spiritually. III: Tabula Rasa or Death and the Seven Pillars is to be released on June 11th through Ván Records and Metal Blade Records. Experience it.


Track listing:

  1. I Was Promised a Hunt
  2. The Lullaby of the Burning Boy
  3. …If Not a Vessel?
  4. In the Loving Arms of Lunacy’s Secret Demons
  5. Dance of the Elements
  6. White Storm of Teeth
  7. Tabula Rasa

Genre: Occult Rock

Record Label: Metal Blade Records

Playing Time: 62 Minutes


Selim “SL” Lemouchi – Guitar

F “The Mouth of Satan” (Farida Lemouchi) – Vocals

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post