Jun 10

The Black Dahlia Murder – Everblack (2013)


It’s the God Damn Black Dahlia Murder.  Finally your prayers have been answered and they are releasing their new album Everblack.  Now we are all aware that the band has gone through some line up changes, but their dynamic has not.  Going way back to their first album Unhallowed (2003) to present day, you can hear how their sound has evolved over the years and they just keep getting better and better.  The core essence of brutality, a mixture of style’s has created the unique sound that we’ve all have grown to love.  With vast concept and raw imagery they have managed to create Everblack and let me tell you it DOES NOT disappoint.

Let’s start from the beginning, the album cover for Everblack is a scenery of misery death and destruction.  It builds up the anticipation and lets you know that what your about to listen to is intense.  The mixing on the album was handled by Jason Suecof and Ryan Williams.  If the name Ryan Williams (.aka. Bart) rings a bell to you it should because its their former bassist.  It’s great to see how they managed to still have him be a part of the band but in a different way.

Everblack is compiled of 10 songs and therefore have made the album sound monumental.  The first 3 tracks on the album will absolutely blow you away.   The quick sound of rain crashing down on the on the ground starts off the first track In Hell Is Where She Waits For Me & then of course we hear Trevor’s amazing voice screaming to the top of his lungs at 1:07 min.  The combination of high and low vocals, fast rifts and harsh drums made this track truly sound sadistic.  The title track off the album Into The Everblack  has a very black metal atmospheric sound to it;  its eerie, and will send shivers down your spine.  The low vocals and moans of death make it sound as if it was recorded deep in the pits of hell.  Its dark ambient sound really makes it stand out and illustrates how the band has been able to incorporate different styles but still make it flow perfectly within the album.

Phantom Limb Masturbation is an incredibly heavy track, it has some knitty gritty death metal inspired vocals which adds more of a foul vibe to the concept of autoeroticism.  Skipping towards the end of the album the 9th track Their Beloved Absentee has a very creepy intro. You’ll know what I’m talking about when you hear it.  The guitar rifts on this track are very somber and give it a more mild tone.    Map Of Scars is the last song on the album and combines multiple elements to continue the dark theme that has been consistent through the album.  Over all its a great track and I really loved the quick Michael Angelo Batio inspired guitar solo at 3:30- 3:33 min.  It was a subtle detail but was a nice addition to such an ominous sounding song.

Everblack could be considered a masterpiece.  The different amounts of components it took to paste the album together is very evident.  If you’ve been a fan over the years you can truly acknowledge their musical progression.  Trevor, Brian, Ryan, Max & Allen you guys truly out did yourselves.  This album is very impressive and totally something everyone must pick up.

Track List:

01. In Hell Is Where She Waits For Me
02. Goat Of Departure
03. Into The Everblack
04. Raped In Hatred By Vines Of Thorn
05. Phantom Limb Masturbation
06. Control
07. Blood Mine
08. Every Rope a Noose
09. Their Beloved Absentee
10. Map Of Scars

Genre: Melodic Death Metal

Record Label: Metal Blade Records

Playing Time: 44:32 min

Line up:

Trevor Strnad − Vocals

Brian Eschbach − Guitar, Vocals

Ryan Knight − Guitar

Max Lavelle − Bass Guitar

Alan Cassidy – Drums




If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post