May 19

Tesseract – Scala/Odyssey ‘Live audio’ (2015)



British quintet TesseracT has been active and constantly evolving since their international break through in 2011 with their album One, they are now releasing their first live CD/DVD titled Scala/Odyssey, which basically is a trip through their two first albums. What makes this album different is not that the video portion of the album was recorded at the Scala theater in London last November, and the Odyssey portion was recorded during the second leg of the Altered State in different parts of Europe. The true difference is how TesseracT sounds with returning vocalist Daniel Tompkins, who recently re-joined the band.  

I remember seeing TesseracT during one of their first tours in the US back in 2011, and being mesmerized by Daniel‘s voice and how fitting he was to the songs, specially on Deception, April, and Acceptance. I must say that when Tompkins left the band, and was replaced by Ashe O’Hara, the material on Altered State didn’t do it for me, and I bet many fans & followers of the band felt this way too. It was an interesting change, and O’Hara is a great vocalist, but it was not a fitting piece for TesseracT.

That aside, listening material from Altered State live on Tompkins‘s voice is interesting, but yet sounds amazing how he can adapt to the band’s latest material, songs like Of Matter – Proxy or Of Matter – Resist, and interesting pieces that are a great fit for Tompkins vocal style. This live CD/DVD captures the very essence of the TesseracT live band I once saw. The power, the dynamic and the way they had grown up and moved pass the Djent label into a more modern progressive sound.

In someway the change of line up musically changed the band and shape the path on which they are now. Is important to acknowledge the role that Altered State had played on the band’s change (despising personal opinion) It opened doors to the band in the sense of being a bit more melodic and less technical, even though the technical aspect comes with the territory.

Scala/Odyssey is an interesting way to experience TesseracT live if you have never had the chance to see the band, or to reconnect with their music and rediscover their talents and how good musicianship they are able to create, and definitely with this new change, I look forward to the next TesseracT album.

4 out of 5 Rating: ★★★★☆



Odyssey (audio)

1. Singularity (recorded in Moscow, Russia)
2. Deception – Concealing Fate Part Two (recorded in Birmingham, UK)
3. The Impossible – Concealing Fate Part Three (recorded in Nottingham, UK)
4. Perfection/Epiphany – Concealing Fate Parts Four/Five (recorded in Rome, Italy)
5. Origin – Concealing Fate Part Six (recorded in Strasbourg, France)
6. Of Matter – Proxy (recorded in Koln, Germany)
7. Of Matter – Retrospect (recorded in Nijmegen, Netherlands)
8. Of Matter – Resist (recorded in Budapest, Hungary)
9. April (recorded in Paris, France)
10. Nocturne (recorded in Manchester, UK)
11. Acceptance – Concealing Fate Part One (recorded in Moscow, Russia)

Scala (video)

1. Singularity
2. Deception – Concealing Fate Part Two
3. The Impossible – Concealing Fate Part Three
4. Perfection/Epiphany – Concealing Fate Parts Four/Five
5. Origin – Concealing Fate Part Six
6. Of Matter – Proxy
7. Of Matter – Retrospect
8. Of Matter – Resist
9. April
10. Nocturne
11. Acceptance – Concealing Fate Part One

Genre: Modern Progressive Metal

Record Label: Century Media Records

Playing Time: 63 Minutes

Line Up:

Acle Kahney – Guitar
James Monteith – Guitar
Jay Postones – Drums
Daniel Tompkins – Vocals
Amos Williams – Bass


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post