Tag Archive for In Flames

Daniel Svensson of In Flames checked in with The Age Of Metal

Swedish melodic death metal powerhouse In Flames is now touring North America with Lamb Of God, Hatebreed and Sylosis. After completing a successful headlining tour at the beginning of the year supporting their latest album Sounds Of A Playground Fading, and playing in some of the big European festivals over the summer, this time around In Flames is bringing a whole new live set and a new stage presence.

Read more

Sylosis – Monolith (2012)

The first time I listened to Sylosis I wasn’t sure that I would like them considering I hadn’t heard much about them. Upon giving them a chance, however, I was truly impressed by their potential. Their two albums were each solid in their own way. Conclusion of an Age (2008) was more on the metalcore spectrum with only hints of thrash and melodic death metal scattered throughout the album. With their follow up Edge of the Earth (2011) they matured their sound, focusing more on thrash, melodic, and death metal elements with aspects of progressiveness mixed in there. Their latest endeavor Monolith (2012) follows perfectly what Sylosis began to do in Edge of the Earth and showcases why they may be the future in metal.
Read more

In Flames,Trivium & Veil Of Maya at Marquee Theater 02/08/2012

I have seen In Flames a few times in the past, but always during summer time and in an outdoor venue, which means over a 100 degrees and in a place way out the city. So last year when it was announce that they were coming back, and playing at Marquee Theater here in Tempe, AZ during February, I was relieve for an inside venue close to me. Last night unfortunately I got to the Marquee around 8:30 pm and by then Veil Of Maya was in the middle of their set. They got a good response from the public and an interesting proposal I must say.


I never listen to the band before, not for dislike but not really interest there for me. I did hear of their fame and great live performances, but last night their show was great, Trivium is a band that has been around since 1999 playing with different venues and festivals around the world, sharing stage with names like Metallica, Iron Maiden and Iced Earth just to name a few. But last night I was blown away by the charisma, and stage presence of guitarist Mark Hefty, who was happy to be back in Tempe, as he mentioned it a couple of times. Their sound was clear and really appealing to the crowd, as they sang along their tunes, and people mosh during some of their fast songs. A good band to see live I must say.

In Flames

What can we say about the one of bands behind the invention of melodic death metal back in the 90′s. Well just to be glad to see them play live once more. In Flames went on stage around 10:15 pm, opening with the title track of their latest album Sounds Of A Playground Fading release last summer followed by their first single of the same record Deliver Us, and All For me also out that album. By then the place was full, and the energy of the crowd was raising really quick. Then the following song was Trigger out of their 2002 Reroute To Remain album, always a great song to see live.

The band continued with Alias out of their 2008 A Sense Of Purpose album a favorite among the crowd as people sang along to it. Then Anders frontman of the band, told us that they were about to play a couple of old songs. Swim out of Clayman album of 2000 and The Hive out their Whoracle back in 1997, two of their greatest records on my opinion. The crowd sang a long those two songs almost entirely and that was pretty cool.

Then the band played Quiet Place out of the Soundtrack To Your Escape album followed by Where Dead Ships Dwell and Fear Is The Weakness of their latest album. Their rest of the set was a mixture between The Sense Of Purpose album, Come Clarity and Sounds Of Playground Fading. But closing with one of the favorites among the public, Take This Life and by then all energy levels among the people were really high.

Indeed a great show that once again proved, that regardless of the line up changes, In Flames still rules, and is one of those bands that can reinvent themselves with every album they put out, without losing that unique characteristic of their sound that makes them so special and appealing to their fans.

Here are some of the pictures of last night’s show


Daniel Svensson of In Flames checks in with The Age Of Metal

Unfortunately The Age Of Metal was unable to assist to the Mayhem Fest date here in Phoenix. However, we had the opportunity to talk with Daniel Svensson drummer of In Flames about their new album Sounds Of A Playground Fading, the change of line up, their collaboration with Pendulum and their participation in the 2011 Mayhem Fest here in the United States.

This is what he told us:

In Flames – Sounds Of A Playground Fading (2011)

The masters of Swedish melodic death metal In Flames returned, with a new album Sounds Of A Playground Fading, with a retrospective style that reminds the sound used in Clayman (2000) their 5th studio album. Of course with some changes in sound and the use of electronic elements in a higher scale. is also important to point out the band’s line up change in which founder member Jester Stromblad left in good terms the band in February 2010, and the return of former member  Niclas Engelin who worked with the band back in 1997 and who now took the place left by Stromblad in guitar.

Sounds Of A Playground Fading is a strong song that opened the album and clearly shows the skills of Engelin in the guitar and his preservation of that old In Flames sound, continuing with Deliver Us a very psychedelic song that mix progressive elements with electronic vanguards, a perfect fusion that injects that In Flames groove that is characteristic of the band. All For Me is the perfect strong ballad that is like a bittersweet add to the album. The Puzzle one of the most fast and strong song of the album is the perfect example of how melodic metal is done. Fear Is The Weakness fits the voice of Anders and pushes the skills of the vocalist to the limit that creates a very enjoyable track that resumes why Anders is one of the best frontman out there these days. Where The Dead Ships Dwell is a well done track with an industrial structure that gives a twist to the death metal part.

The Attic another ballad which is not rare in a In Flames album, and brings a balance to the album that at the same time is a great melody for the ear. Darker Times is a very fast paced track that again shows the excellent fit of the band and their continuous experimentation with electronic and industrial sounds.

The evolution of a band sometimes is not just moving forward but also looking back and retake elements that formed their own sound, and this is what In Flames did with Sounds Of  A Playground Fading. A excellent album that presents a unique collection of sounds, that just this titans of Swedish melodic death metal can create, cannot wait to see them live and listen some of this tracks. Indeed a new masterpiece in the musical career of In Flames.

Power Tracks: Sounds Of A Playground Fading, Deliver Us, Where The Dead Ships Dwell, Darker Times, Fear Is The Weakness

Slow Tracks: The Puzzle, Jester’s Door, A New Dawn, The Attic


01. Sounds Of A Playground Fading
02. Deliver Us
03. All For Me
04. The Puzzle
05. Fear Is The Weakness
06. Where The Dead Ships Dwell
07. The Attic
08. Darker Times
09. Ropes
10. Enter Tragedy
11. Jester’s Door
12. A New Dawn
13. Liberation


%d bloggers like this: