Mar 10

SYLVAINE stream new track, “Saudade”


Norwegian multi-instrumentalist SYLVAINE a streaming another new track from their forthcoming album ‘Wistful’. The track, titled “Saudade”, is touted as “reminiscent of haunting ‘60s soundtrack music and at times the more introspective moments of the Cure, “Saudade” is about internal conflict, dark emotions and the comfort one can find in the most melancholic sounds.”. The track is streaming now at PopMatters.

Regarding the track, SYLVAINE comments:

“The track ‘Saudade’ showcases the more ambient side of ‘Wistful’. I always refer to this song as ‘the dirge’, as the mix of my father’s constant hypnotic marching pattern on the drums and the dark ambience of the music, gives the feeling of a funeral march. Musically it is very minimalistic and lyrically, this might be one of my favorites on the album.”

‘Wistful’ will be released by Season of MIst worldwide on May 13. Pre-orders for the album are now available across several CD and LP formats at the Season of Mist E-Shop.

Previously, SYLVAINE released the  track titled ‘Earthbound’. The track, regarded as “a finely balanced song that nails the elements that make the blackgaze formula so great.” (Stereogum) is streaming here.

The album art and track list for ‘Wistful’ can be found below.

Track list
1. Delusions
2. Earthbound
3. A Ghost Trapped In Limbo
4. Saudade
5. In The Wake Of Moments Passed By
6. Like A Moth To A Flame
7. Wistful

Serving as the composer, recording engineer, producer and musician of all instruments herself, SYLVAINE composed her critically acclaimed debut ‘Silent Chamber, Noisy Heart’ only with the aid of British mixing engineer Nick Terry and Ray Staff for mastering at Air Studios (BLACK SABBATH, DAVID BOWIE, LED ZEPPELIN, and more). Her successful self-release enjoyed critical acclaim, and landed SYLVAINE a supporting slot for  shoegazer’s ALCEST South American tour in September 2014.

SYLVAINE is the sole member of the project for the studio recordings, but will be joined by three other musicians to bring the music from her two albums alive on stage. The band is set to embark on their first tours in 2016 after the release of ‘Wistful’.

The recordings for SYLVAINE’s sophomore album were completed in the French Drudenhaus Studios in spring 2015. It was mixed and mastered by the same team as her first full-length during the fall and winter of last year.

SYLVAINE news and updates will be made available through the Season of Mist website, the SYLVAINE Facebook page.

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post