May 13

SYLVAINE release new album, ‘Wistful’ worldwide


Norwegian multi-instrumentalist SYLVAINE has released her highly anticipated, sophomore album ‘Wistful’ worldwide today. The brand new album, hailed as “lush and immersive and aims squarely at the parts of the brain and heart concerned with melancholy. It’s a winner. Listen.” (Stereogum) is now available across several CD and LP formats at the Season of Mist E-Shop.

‘Wistful’ is streaming now at Invisible Oranges, alongside a complete album breakdown penned by SYLVAINE founder, Kathrine Shepard.

Regarding the album, SYLVAINE comments:

“To me ‘Wistful’ is an album holding extremely personal moments and conveys a heightened state of alienation, frustration, and resignation, partially as a result of loosing contact with the known, while big changes were occurring in my life during 2014. The record showcases a more focused expression, with songs that all relate to one another in a more natural way than on my first full-length ‘Silent Chamber, Noisy Heart’, getting me closer to what I imagined to be the sound of SYLVAINE when I started the project. Now I am already working on my third album, but cannot wait to see what people will make of this dark, lush piece that comforted me on those days when I felt the most lost some years ago.”

The album art and track list for ‘Wistful’ can be found below.

Track list
1. Delusions
2. Earthbound
3. A Ghost Trapped In Limbo
4. Saudade
5. In The Wake Of Moments Passed By
6. Like A Moth To A Flame
7. Wistful

Serving as the composer, recording engineer, producer and musician of all instruments herself, SYLVAINE composed her critically acclaimed debut ‘Silent Chamber, Noisy Heart’ only with the aid of British mixing engineer Nick Terry and Ray Staff for mastering at Air Studios (BLACK SABBATH, DAVID BOWIE, LED ZEPPELIN, and more). Her successful self-release enjoyed critical acclaim, and landed SYLVAINE a supporting slot for  shoegazer’s ALCEST South American tour in September 2014.

SYLVAINE is the sole member of the project for the studio recordings, but will be joined by three other musicians to bring the music from her two albums alive on stage. The band is set to embark on their first tours in 2016 after the release of ‘Wistful’.

The recordings for SYLVAINE’s sophomore album were completed in the French Drudenhaus Studios in spring 2015. It was mixed and mastered by the same team as her first full-length during the fall and winter of last year.

SYLVAINE news and updates will be made available through the Season of Mist website, the SYLVAINE Facebook page.

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post