Aug 29

Satyricon – Satyricon (2013)



The dynamic Norwegian black metal  duo Satyricon, are back with a new self titled album, a new label, and a whole new attitude. The new album Satyricon, is set for release September 9th, 2013 via Nuclear Blast.

Frontman Satyr made a statement about the new album,“We are back. Sorry it took so long, but we needed the time to be able pull off a record like this. Comparing this one to previous records is time wasted, it is Satyricon; constantly on the move. Naming this record ‘Satyricon’ was the most obvious thing in the world. We have never done a record which captures the spirit of this band in such a way. Ever. It will demand a lot from you as a listener, but I know you will love it. It will grow on you, and that is why it will stay with you forever. We won’t tour as much in the future as we used to, and that will just make every tour more special. This album and this tour is for you and ourselves. It is our moment!”

Fear not long time fans, throughout this album you will hear memories from older albums such as Now, Diabolical and even The Shadowthrone. The first track Voices of Shadows is all instrumental and could easily be the theme song for The Undertaker. The track pulls all of your attention in on listening to the album. It flawlessly flows into the second track, Tro og Kraft where you are met by the all powerful vocals of Satyr. Next in line is track three, Our World, It Rumbles Tonight which is the first single off the album.

Satyricon is packed full with ten kvlt songs with fist raising scream-a-long moments. This is a more confident, heart felt and domineering album and a must have for fans to add to their collection. They are releasing a limited edition CD digipack as well as vinyl and 50 random orders will be autographed and contain handwritten lyrics.

To make this release more exciting Satyricon will perform with Norway’s 55-strong National Opera Chorus on September 8th. This performance is part of the Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival.



1. Voice of Shadows 2:35

2. Tro og Kraft 6:01

3. Our World It Rumbles Tonight 5:12

4. Nocturnal Flare 6:38

5. Phoenix 6:32

6. Walker Upon The Wind 4:57

7. Nekrohaven 3:12

8. Ageless Northern Spirit 4:43

9. The Infinity of Time and Space 7:47

10. Natt 3:44

Genre: Black Metal

Label: Nuclear Blast

Playtime: 49.21


Satyr – Vocals, guitars, keyboards

Frost – Drums


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post