Jun 29

RIVER BLACK stream new track, “Jaws”


RIVER BLACK are streaming another pulverizing new track off their forthcoming debut album. The track titled “Jaws” is hailed as “a straightforward punch in the teeth that just keeps coming around and around until there’s nothing left in your mouth but blood”, and is streaming now at Metal Injection.

Regarding the new track, vocalist Mike Olender comments: ““Jaws” is about the paternal instinct of human nature. When I started a family I came face to face with certain forces I had not encountered before, rooted in the instinct to protect my family from harm. It was so deep that I found that I had to protect myself from my own emotions. A graphic news story about child abuse or predators could haunt me for days. I saw my sense of compassion and the need to understand why people do terrible things crumble with my acceptance of my own sin – wrath. This song is for the fathers and mothers who give of themselves selflessly to provide for their families, and it is dedicated to the victims of neglect and horrific abuse.” 

Recorded in New Jersey’s Trax East Studios (DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN, HATEBREED, DEADGUY, THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER) with producer Eric Rachel (SKIDROW, MUNICIPAL WASTE, GOD FORBID) and mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side (CONVERGE, MASTODON, THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN), RIVER BLACK’s eponymous full-length will be released worldwide on July 7thPre-orders for the album are available across multiple formats here.

RIVER BLACK, hailed as “driving, gritty, and it sure as hell doesn’t let up for even a second.” (Metal Injection)  features four veterans of the metal scene in its ranks;  guitarist John Adubato (ex BURNT BY THE SUN), vocalist Mike Olender (ex BURNT BY THE SUN / ENDEAVOR), bassist Brett Bamberger (REVOCATION), and Dave Witte (MUNICIPAL WASTE, ex BURNT BY THE SUN / DISCORDANCE AXIS / HUMAN REMAINS / etc.) on drums.

Cover art by Ellie Gill

Track list
1. Jaws
2. Honor
3. Low (click to stream, also available on Spotify)
4. Shipwreck
5. River Black
6. South x South
7. Boat (click to stream, also available on Spotify)
8. Move
9. #Victim (click to stream, also available on Spotify)
10. Haunt
11. Sink
12. Everywhere

Photo by Scott Kinkade

RIVER BLACK news and updates will be made available through the Season of Mist website.

Sept. 15 Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie (w/ Artificial Brain, Longest War)

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post