Nov 26

Nidingr – G.O.D. (2012)


As one would expect with an album entitled “G.O.D.”, the record is packed with catchy worship tunes that you can listen to with your loved ones.

Before anyone gets on my case because they’re not able to comprehend my giant mass of sarcasm in the preceding sentence, the title actually means “Greatest of Deceivers”, and NIDINGR is the farthest from Christian Rock that you can get (isn’t it sad I have to explain my sarcasm?). Formed in Norway in 1996 to make it a “second wave of Black Metal” band, Nidingr has generally remained off the mainstream radar, but not due to the quality of their releases. Even if you’re not completely familiar with the band, the name “Teloch” may ring some bells. To name a few, he’s played with the likes of 1349, Gorgoroth, God Seed, and is currently the lead of guitarist of Mayhem (now if you haven’t heard of that band, you’ve got some problems). But of course, all accomplishments come with great reasons. Teloch is a well accomplished musician with notable contributions to all the music he touches, which only makes sense that what began as his solo project would produce such output.

Although the band has remained consistent throughout their short number of full-length releases, the emotion in their most recent album is portrayed notably different than in Sorrow Infinite and Darkness (2005). G.O.D. continues in the path drawn by Wolf-Father (2010), portraying darkness without slamming your head into it. In the beginning, the band remained closer to the Black Metal genre as a whole, with shrill (but invigorating) guitar riffs and an ominous organ, creating a “cold” feeling resonate throughout the listener. More recently, with their slow shift towards Death Metal, they’ve replaced that desolate feeling with a “warmer” one that still stays true to their message, but with a slightly different approach. Nidingr has never been known for shrieking vocals, as you would expect, instead with prominent vocals that sound like a much more natural, but with a much more sadistic turn. Since Cpt. Estrella Grasa’s vocals are more decipherable, he’s able to let his own voice resonate, and separate it from being “just another Black Metal band”. Their continuance of this in G.O.D. only solidifies it to their name, and makes them more recognizable. Guitar wise, G.O.D. takes a slightly progressive approach and changes the tempo of each song throughout to make the next note often times unpredictable.

Every song remains diverse, with no riff or melody sounding too alike another. All the while, the tone and feel of the album remains consistent from track to track, without them being cookie cutter copies of each other. Nothing on the album disappoints, even down to the visual art. The picture on the cover is detailed and clever, and reflects the message conveyed through the lyrics to a T. Long story short, it’s definitely worth the listen, and the only way you’d have strong feelings against it, is if it just plain old wasn’t your type of music. It sounds cheesy saying “this is their best album so far” (especially when they only have 2 others), but it truly fits this release.


01. Greatest Of Deceivers
02. All Crowns Fall
03. O Thou Empty God
04. The Balances
05. Vim Patior
06. Rags Upon A Beggar
07. The Worm Is Crowned
08. Pure Pale Gold
09. Mother Of Abominations
10. Dweller In The Abyss


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post