Nov 19

Necrophobic – Womb of Lilithu (2013)



Swedish death metal troupe Necrophobic released their newest album, Womb of Lilithu, on October 29. This legendary band returns after four years of silence to deliver this monster of an album.


Combining smashing riffs with harmonic vocals, this album embodies the unilluminated aura of both Swedish death metal and black metal. One of the main elements of this album that stands out is the fine production; with mixing and mastering done by Frederik Folklare, Necrophobic truly sounds their best with this album. Overall, everything immaculate about Necrophobic can be heard with this new release.

The album begins with the title track. This orchestral intro is the perfect way to start off this album; a piano melody and imperil effects set the mood for the listener. Astaroth contains an unknown velocity that will blow your mind. Furfur is catchy in the melodic yet brutal sense that Swedish death metal always captures.

Marquis Phenex is the darkest song on the album, starting with a blackened mind-gripping riff and rapid drumming and continually incorporates more melody with that blackened style. Asmodee has the best riffs; they are technical yet contain that gloomy feel. The album closes with Amdusias, which is an operatic death metal anthem; a perfect way to close this lovely yet morbid album. Though at times the album is a little slow, this is overall a successful attempt from these legends after four years.

Necrophobic proved to us that the classics truly do it the best. This band is one of the defining acts from the Swedish death metal scene, and always will be. They designated the blackened death metal genre; creating a style that was simply beautiful, yet able to obliterate as quickly as it mesmerizes. The fact that they made another fantastic album is remarkable.



1. Womb Of Lilithu
2. Splendour Nigri Solis
3. Astaroth
4. Furfur
5. Black Night Raven
6. The Necromancer
7. Marquis Phenex
8. Asmodee
9. Marchosias
10. Matanbuchus
11. Paimon
12. Opium Black
13. Infinite Infernalis
14. Amdusias

Genre: Death/Black Metal

Label: Season of Mist

Playing Time: 67 Minutes and 28 Seconds


Joakim Sterner: drums
Tobias Sidegård: vocals
Alexander Friberg: bass
Fredrik Folkare: guitar


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post