Aug 05

Nachtmystium – Silencing Machine (2012)


Nachtmystium is one of those bands that have been getting recognition in the US Black metal scene. In 2012 they have released their newest opus Silencing Machine. Nachtmystium was formed as a side project by Blake Judd and Pat McCormick influenced by the second wave of black metal like Burzum and Darkthrone. By the time after their Demise record was released Nachtmystium started to incorporate more psychedelic and experimental metal into their black metal sound.

With Silencing Machine we see Nachtmystium going back to their black metal roots leaving behind much of the psychedelic and experimental music. Whether or not this is a good thing depends on the listener, as some might find this stale as compared to their more interesting Black Meddle albums. Clocking at about an hour Silencing Machine is a bit too long and a few songs off the album seems to be mostly filler. However songs like And I Control You shows that Nachtmystium can play black metal well. Compared to Assassins and Addicts, Silencing Machine does seem like a step backwards as much of what made them unique in the black metal community was their use of Pink Floyd-like grooves and psychedelic melodies mixed ever so well with black metal. With that mostly gone Silencing Machine does fall short and doesn’t have a whole lot of distinction from what other black metal bands are doing.

With that in mind Silencing Machine is still a pretty good album and Nachtmystium are still a talented. In truth when compared to their more recent releases Silencing Machine is pretty average but if you to take it for what it is then you will see that the album is a wonderful addition to the Nachtmystium catalog. The main question remains whether or not Blake Judd and company will on future releases continuing on going back to more black metal like sound or will they go back to experimenting like they did on their Black Meddle albums.


1. Dawn Over the Ruin of Jerusalem
2. Silencing Machine
3. And I Control You
4. The Lepers of Destitution
5. Borrowed Hope and Broken Dreams
6. I Wait in Hell
7. Decimation Annihilation
8. Reduced to Ashes
9. Give Me the Grave
10. These Rooms In Which We Weep

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post