May 04

IN MOURNING stream new song “The Call To Orion”

DESTRUCTION - Thrash Anthems II
Sweden’s melodeath masters IN MOURNING are soon to release a new album titled“Afterglow”. The release date is set for May 20th via Agonia Records. In anticipation, the band has teamed up with Invisible Oranges to reveal a new song, “The Call To Orion”. Listen to it exclusively via this link: 


Earlier the band premiered the tracks “Below Rise To The Above” (lyric video,watch) and “Fire And Ocean” (stream).

“Afterglow”, the successor to “The Weight Of Oceans” (2012), will be the first album featuring new drummer Daniel Liljekvist (ex-Katatonia). The cover artwork was made by Kristian Wåhlin (BathoryTiamat, King Diamond). Total playing time is around one hour.

IN MOURNING commented: “The new album is called “Afterglow” and its story takes off from where “The Weight Of Oceans” ends. It’s a bit more complex than our previous albums and it has got a bit of a different sound than the older ones, a bit more alive like a band and maybe not always as studio corrected as our earlier material. However, the foundation of the music is still what we’ve always done and the key elements are pretty much the same but with some new additions and a few new twists and turns of course”.

Hailed by many as the heir to Opeth‘s melodeath throne, IN MOURNING was formed in the Swedish woods in the year 2000. Since then the band has evolved over the years striving to refine its sound to what it is today. April 2012 marked the release of the bands third and latest album “The Weight Of Oceans”, a mythology inspired conceptual story that journeys to the sea. Musically, the group blends a broad spectrum of influences into a foundation of melodic death metal. Thrusting from doomy metal-riffs, blasting drumbeats and deep growling vocals to calm breezes of clean flowing melodies and harmonies.

“Afterglow” has been recorded between November 2015 and March 2016 in Nordin Music Studios (drums) and Libra Studios (guitar, bass and vocals). Mixing and mastering duties have been handled by Jonas Martinsson in Necrosavant Studio.

01. Fire And Ocean
02. The Grinning Mist
03. Ashen Crown
04. Below Rise To The Above
05. The Lighthouse Keeper
06. The Call To Orion
07. Afterglow
“Afterglow” will be available in the following formats:
Digipack CD (with 12 pages booklet).
Jewelcase CD (with 12 pages booklet).
Regular Double Black LP.
Double Orange Crush Transparent LP (handnumbered to 135 copies).
Black T-shirt in two different versions.
Digital formats.

CD/LP/T-shirt –
Digital –

Tobias Netzell – guitars & vocals
Pierre Stam – bass
Björn Pettersson – guitars
Tim Nedergård – guitars
Daniel Liljekvist – drums
Upcoming Shows:
18-20 August – Sabaton Open Air – Falun, Sweden
28-31 July – Castle Part Festival – Castle Of Bolków, Poland

Lyric video for “Below Rise To The Above”:

Stream “Fire And Ocean” track:

IN MOURNING on-line:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/inmourningband
Instagram: https://instagram.com/inmourning/
Website: http://www.inmourning.net/

Agonia Records:
Website: http://agoniarecords.com
Webshop: http://tinyurl.com/agoniashop
Facebook: https://facebook.com/agoniarecords
Twitter: https://twitter.com/agoniarecords
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/agoniarecords
Bandcamp: https://agoniarecords.bandcamp.com
Instagram: https://instagram.com/agoniarecordsofficial
YouTube: http://youtube.com/AgoniaRec

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

BEAST IN BLACK - Berserker

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post