Mar 16

MORBID SAINT ‘Spectrum of Death’ vinyl reissue & extended edition OUT NOW!


A masterpiece of raw and rabid, deadly thrashing madness has returned as stunning reissue via Century Media Records: MORBID SAINT’s Spectrum of Death! Originally recorded as a demo in the late 80’s and produced by Eric Greif (Acrophet, Viogression), the 1990 released album by the Wisconsin thrashers offers a vicious and intense mix of early Slayer, Kreator, and Dark Angel that has not lost any of its violent impact.

Spectrum of Death is available on vinyl including an extensive 8-page LP-sized booklet as well as on double CD, and digital. The latter two have been released under the title “Spectrum of Death (Extended Edition)” and contain everything MORBID SAINT have recorded so far including the rough mix of the unreleased, often bootlegged second album, “Destruction System”, various tracks recorded in 2010 and 2011 plus the 1992 demo aka “The Black Tape”, of which only 50 copies were ever made.

For this release, founding member Jay Visser (guitar) dug deep into his personal archive and excavated tons of rare photos, obscure logo designs, and flyers as well as telling the history of MORBID SAINT in a detailed interview.

Whereas the Spectrum of Death album was specially mastered for vinyl, and hardly touched to preserve its original sound, all other tracks have been carefully restored and remastered by Patrick W. Engel / Temple Of Disharmony (Iced Earth, Grave, Massacra) to ensure most pleasant aural terror!

The following formats are available:

SOLD OUT – Gatefold transp. red LP & LP-Booklet – limited to 100 copies (CM Distro EU exclusive)

–       Gatefold black LP & LP-Booklet plus “Lock Up Your Children” tape replica bundle (CM Distro EU & US exclusive)
–       Gatefold light blue LP & LP-Booklet – limited to 200 copies (CM Distro US exclusive)
–       Gatefold lilac LP & LP-Booklet – limited to 500 copies (distributed via RED & CM Distro US)
–       Gatefold clear LP & LP-Booklet – limited to 200 copies (High Roller Records exclusive,
–       Gatefold black LP & LP-Booklet
–       Ltd. Edition 2CD Digipak incl 32-page booklet
–       “Lock Up Your Children” tape replica – limited to 666 copies (Home Taping Cruelties release, available via

Get your format of choice at

Digital formats are available here:

In case you’re too young to know the glorious MORBID SAINT, here are two tracks to check out:

“Crying For Death” (from “Spectrum Of Death”):
“Final Exit” (from “Destruction System”):

Enjoy this high class reissue that honors a true underground thrash legend in a proper way!


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post