Jul 12

MaYan – Quarterpast (2011)


Mayan is the side project of Mark Jensen guitarist of the gothic metal band Epica, in this new adventure Mark shows a more heavy side and a more aggressive musicalization. moving far away from his primary band, with the aid of Issac Delahaye (guitars) and Arien van Weesenbeek (drums & vocals) of Epica, Frank Schiphorst (guitars), Jack Driessen (keyboards & vocals),and Rob van der Loo (Bass Guitar) the project has some operatic approach but a more heavy approach, with the guess vocals of Simone Simons (Epica) and Floor Jensen (Revamp) this projects stands in its own as a different idea.

The album opens with Symphony Of Aggression a heavy and fast song that caught you by surprise on how powerful the musicalization is done and the guttural work of Mark syncs perfectly with Simone’s clean voice. Mainstay Of Society is a more melodic track that has some oriental air in some of the melodies without leaving the aggresivity of Arien on the drum kit. Quaterpast is a more operatic track that could fit in a Lord of the Rings scene. Course Of Life is a more pace track that get to the climax when the guttural voice of Mark sings along with the powerful and clear voice of Floor. The Savage Massacre is one of the best tracks of the album, because of its musical complexity and its vocal flexibility. Essenza De Ti is an operatic intermezzo that provides the introduction for the rest of the album.

Bite The Bullet is a song with many voice contrasts from clear voices and guttural voices all in a great musical pattern that is a mix of symphonic, progressive and death metal. Drown The Demon is a track that had a lot of Epica influence, but in a different level of heaviness. Celibate Aphrodite has a great guitar work and a vocal flexibility that makes the track one of the best of the album. War On Terror is one of the heaviest and fastest songs out of Quaterpast, also the music on it is quite complicated a real mixture of metal.

Is not doubt that the release of Mayan marks a new chapter in the musical career of Mark Jansen, with a total new concept way different at what Epica does, that reflects a more heavy and fast way to do music, without leaving the symphonic part but I guess in a more intricate way.

Power Tracks: Symphony Of Aggression, Quarterpast, Bite The Bullet, War On Terror, Celibate Aphrodite

Soft Tracks: Drown The Demon, Course Of Life, Essenza Di Te, The Savage Massacre, Quarterpast


01. Symphony Of Aggression
02. Mainstay Of Society
03. Quarterpast
04. Course Of Life
05. The Savage Massacre
06. Essenza Di Te
07. Bite The Bullet
08. Drown The Demon
09. Celibate Aphrodite
10. War On Terror
11. Tithe







If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post