Aug 16

Kiko Loureiro – Sounds Of Innocence (2013)



Kiko Loureiro is best known for his work with the power metal band Angra, but he also had recorded solo material since 2005, making Sounds Of Innocence his 4 solo studio album.

This ten track album is a mixture of Progressive metal, Jazz, and a heavy dose of Latin music which makes it really interesting and enjoyable. Tracks like (Gray Stone Getaway, Reflective and The Hymn) are really progressive songs full of change, turns, and so much feel on it that it’s just incredible. On the other hand,songs like (El Guajiro, Mae D’Agua, and Twisted Horizon) are the most exciting and relaxing pieces of this record. The Latin melodies and fusion with Brazilian folk rhythms are just the cherry on top of the cake.

Overall Kiko Loureiro reminds us with this album the importance of traditional music and its influence on heavy metal as a whole. The technicalities within Sounds Of Innocence are not only a work of Kiko himself, but also the musicians that he picked up to help him create this album, which includes the drum talents of Virgil Donati, and Felipe Andreoli on bass guitar. Now with that being said, this album is a must have if you enjoy good crafted music.



01. Awakening Prelude
02. Gray Stone Gateway
03. Conflicted
04. Reflective
05. El Guajiro
06. Ray Of Life
07. The Hymn
08. Mae D’Agua
09. Twisted Horizon
10. A Perfect Rhyme

Genre: Progressive Metal/Neo Classic metal/Jazz Fussion

Record Label: Victor Entertaiment

Playing Time: 41 Minutes


Kiko Loureiro – Guitar
Virgil Donati – Drums
Felipe Andreoli – Bass



If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post