Mar 27

Iron Maiden – En Vivo Blu-Ray (2012)


At the beginning of the year it was announce that Iron Maiden was set to release a new live DVD, and many people thought.”hmmm, another live DVD?…again”. Well yeah, but how many times have you seen a heavy metal band tour around the world on their own customized airplane, and piloted by their lead singer?. Plus you got to see what is going on behind the scenes and the hard work that goes through to make that possible, not many times right.

En Vivo is not an ordinary Iron Maiden Blu-Ray. Not only it was recorded on the historical, Estadio Nacional of Santiago, Chile in front of 50.000 crazy Chilean fans. En Vivo also captures the essence of an Iron Maiden show, the lights, the music, the backdrops, the giant Eddie, and the passion of a band that connects with their fans every night while on tour. The set list for this Blu-Ray is composed of material from different Iron Maiden eras. There are songs from their latest album The Final Frontier like El Dorado, Coming Home or Talisman on which Bruce Dickinson’s voice will wow-you from beginning to end. There is also material from the Brave New World album like The Wickerman or Blood Brothers, also songs from Dance Of Death album, and of course classics that couldn’t be out of a Maiden show like Fear Of The Dark, The Number Of The Beast and Hallowed By Thy Name.

The Blu-Ray also has a 88 minutes documentary titled Behind The Beast, and is all about how the tour came together. Starting from putting together Ed Force One and the work that took to do so, the making of the stage and its different phases, the making and testing of the backdrops, and the giant Eddie that emerges from behind of the stage at the middle of the show. Another important part of the documentary was the people behind the scenes that makes an Iron Maiden tour possible and successful. The managers, the tour managers, the sound engineers, the light engineers, the logistics crew, and all the roadies and technical team that works late nights and early mornings to make possible for Iron Maiden to create the magic we see on stage every time they hit the stage.

Also included on this Blu-Ray is the video clip from Satellite 15…The Final Frontier that was release in July 2010, and the making of the video that was shoot in an old Air Force base and a power station in the UK. As a bonus the disc also includes the Final Frontier’s show intro, so the anticipation and emotion of those that were in any of the 29 dates of the world tour can be revived all over again…Yeah I got goose bumps when I saw it again.

One thing that catch my attention, and that is new on an Iron Maiden Blu-Ray is not obviously the high-definition and quality of the video, but also the way it was film and edited, using more than 22 video cameras around the stadium including an air camera so not action or movement from audience or band is missing during the show. The edition work on this DVD is amazing, using the different angles of material recorded and put together on a single screen, so you have the band and the reaction of the fans from many points of view.

Overall En Vivo captures the passion of the Latin American crowd in this case the Chilean fans, and the passion and hard work of Iron Maiden on stage. It also shows the hard work from the crew that makes every show possible and the diverse scenarios that they have to go through on every country.

“Live At Estadio Nacional, Santiago” (approximate running time: 120 minutes)
01. Satellite 15
02. The Final Frontier
03. El Dorado
04. 2 Minutes To Midnight
05. The Talisman
06. Coming Home
07. Dance Of Death
08. The Trooper
09. The Wicker Man
10. Blood Brothers
11. When The Wild Wind Blows
12. The Evil That Men Do
13. Fear Of The Dark
14. Iron Maiden
15. The Number Of The Beast
16. Hallowed Be Thy Name
17. Running Free

“Behind The Beast” (approximate running time: 102 minutes)
01. “Behind The Beast” documentary
02. “Satellite 15…The Final Frontier” promo video (director’s cut)
03. “The Making of Satellite 15…The Final Frontier” promo
04. “The Final Frontier World Tour” Show Intro

Genre: Heavy Metal

Record Label: Emi

Line up:

Bruce Dickinson – Vocals
Janick Gers – Guitar
Steve Harris – Bass
Nicko McBrain – Drums
Dave Murray – Guitar
Adrian Smith – Guitar


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post