Apr 19

Insomnium – Shadows Of The Dying Sun (2014)



The definition of modern melodic death metal has returned, Insomnium delivers a powerful piece of metal art on their 7th studio album Shadows Of A Dying Sun. The distinctive sound of the band hasn’t changed, in the contrary it has evolved from what they presented with One For Sorrow back in 2011.

Shadows Of A Dying Sun, could be considered the highest melodic point that Insomnium had got so far, the density of songs like The Primeval AttackWhile We Sleep, & The River (longest song on the album, almost 8 minutes long) takes the concept of sorrow, darkness and heaviness to a new dimension. The musical structure remains faithful to Insomnium‘s sound, but there is something in the texture of this album, that feels so new and aggressive. Songs like Revelation, and Black Heart Rebellion are the darkest songs of the album, they flirt with bright riffs and clean melodies from time to time, but are absorbed into the obscurity of Insomnium‘s sorrowful sound.

Lose To Night along with Ephimeral are the best example of the classic melodic death metal sound, a real blueprint of the Gothenburg movement. It’s nice to see that bands like Insomnium, regardless of what they had contributed to the genre, they still go back to the basic and devastating sound that influenced them, and defined the genre. The Promethean Song, and Shadows Of The Dying Sun, are the relaxed songs on this record, even though they carry the heaviness of the rest the album, these songs are more calm, and a bit mellow than the rest of the album.

Insomnium, succeeds in delivering once again a masterful collection of melodic death metal, and Shadows Of The Dying Sun represents the next stage of evolution in Insomnium‘s musical journey, heavier, darker, and more melancholic than before. Dark Tranquillity & Katatonia better watch out, these guys are coming for you and your legacy.


30.04. NL Tilburg, 013 (w/ Epica)
02.05. NO Haugesund, Karmøygeddon Festival
08.05. FI Jyväskylä Lutakko
09.05. FI Joensuu Kerubi
10.05. FI Helsinki Circus
06.-08.06. DE Gelsenkirchen, Rock Hard Festival
27.06. DE Dischingen, Rock am Härtsfeldsee Festival
10.07. DE Bellenstedt, Rockharz Festival
14.-16.08. DE Dinkelsbühl, SummerBreeze Festival



1 The Primeval Dark
2 While We Sleep
3 Revelation
4 Black Heart Rebellion
5 Lose To Night
6 Collapsing Words
7 The River
8 Ephemeral (album version)
9 The Promethean Song
10 Shadows Of The Dying Sun

Genre: Melodic Death Metal

Record Label: Century Media Records

Playing Time: 56 Minutes

Line Up:

Niilo Sevänen – Vocals/Bass
Ville Friman – Guitars/Vocals
Markus Vanhala – Guitars
Markus Hirvonen – Drums



If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post