Aug 25

Evergrey – Hymns Of The Broken (2014)



Hymns For The Broken is Evergrey‘s 9th studio album following a three-year wait from the Glorious Collision released in February 2011.
A unique part of this album is the fact that we have some returning faces in the band which I felt is the reason I felt reminiscent of Inner Circle (2004) while
listening to the album. By no means I am saying that they are repetitive,
we definitely have some interesting things being brought in. As we reach the twenty year mark of Evergrey being founded, I feel the
progression of the band is providing us with quite the journey.

The aptly named Hymns For The Broken is a prize for an Evergrey fan.
The most epic song on this album I would probably have to say is The Grand Collapse, while combining the powerful vocals and musicianship of the band it remains clear to their unique sound as well as keeping my interest one a nearly 8 minute song. They experimented a little with electronic elements, there is definitely the sad ballad, an emotional song like Missing You. The music on it remains focused, clear, beautiful sounding, and the guitars portray the song’s emotions as if they were painted in front of you.

The keyboards often haunt the songs with a hidden sadness that rings out its cries to your heart. Please do not think that this takes anything away from the metalness or hard rock music included in this album, but I do have a certain love of music that can make you feel emoting. This is all in included in the album. Some of the tracks have a bit of length, but I never felt it.

A New Dawn picks up the pace as the rock with haunting howls of Tom Englund. It feels much more dramatic in both music and singing than the previous track King Of Errors. They are mellow in some parts, however most of this track seems to be at a faster pace. A beautiful keyboard solo is placed right before the three-minute mark. A New Dawn is where you can see some of the new influences and creative forces going through some of the new changes.

I recommend picking it up and taking a listen. As The Inner Circle being a favorite of mine, I do believe this is very much worth your attention as a progressive metal lover. Enjoy!



1.The Awakening 1:40
2. King Of Errors 5:40
3. A New Dawn 4:35
4. Wake A Change 4:48
5. Archaic Rage 6:26
6. Barricades 4:57
7. Black Undertow 5:01
8. The Fire 4:10
9. Hymns For The Broken 4:56
10. Missing You 3:25
11. The Grand Collapse 7:46
12. The Aftermath 7:25

Genre: Progressive Metal/Hard Rock

Record Label: AFM Records

Line Up:

Vocals/Guitars: Tom S. Englund
Keys/Backing Vocals: Rikard Zander
Bass/Backing Vocals: Johan Nieman
Guitars/Backing Vocals: Henrik Danhage
Drums: Jonas Ekdahl


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post