Mar 04

Epica – Requiem For The Indifferent (2012)


It’s been more than two years since the Dutch symphonic metal band Epica released their highly acclaimed album Design Your Universe. At the time the band had include two new members Issac Delahaye in guitar and Ariën van Weesenbeek in drums, and totally revamped their sound which moved apart from the rest of the symphonic metal movement. This year they returned with a new album. Requiem For The Indifferent, a complex and more progressive musical piece that is without doubt a new direction on the band’s career, that still Epica but upgraded plus one.

Requiem For The Indifferent opens with a very calm symphonic intro titled Karma (no Kamelot references at all, please) that continues with Monopoly On True a fast and strong track that puts clear that the sound of this album will kick your ass or break your neck. Again the aggressive grunting vocals of Mark Jansen worked perfectly with Simone Simons angelic voice, is like hearing God and the Devil yell at each other by taking turns. The following track is Storm Of Sorrow a very strange song that took me time to digest, a very sad but powerful song lyrically and musically speaking. Delirium is the first ballad of the album that is an instantly flashback to Consign To Oblivion. Very beautiful song that again challenged Simone‘s vocals to a new limit that successfully she achieved

The following song is Internal Warfare this song is like witnessing a love affair between progressive metal and death metal with a symphonic soundtrack playing in the background. The title track of the album Requiem For The Indifferent starts with a mixture of Southern Rock and Middle Eastern melodies that takes the song to a whole new level, that continues with complex progressions and fast passed passages until the end of the song. Guilty Demeanor is a short song that has a great symphonic structure, and makes it a nice catchy tune. Deep Water Horizon is a dynamic track that mix the aggressiveness of the band with the soft voice of Simone.

Stay The Course is a stray on your face song that even though is quite balanced has its moments of aggression and a soft middle piece that gives character and power to it. Deter The Tyrant is easy one of my favorite tracks of the album, strong and fast, this song live without doubt would give you a quick “slayer-neck.” Avalanche is a dark mixture between ballad and death metal that is filled with great guitar riffs. Serenade Of Self-Destruction is a whole 9 minutes and 52 seconds of complex melodies, progressive passages and symphonic parts, that it feels like you are in a music labyrinth, and you don’t want to find the exit of it.


01. Karma
02. Monopoly On Truth
03. Storm The Sorrow
04. Delirium
05. Internal Warfare
06. Requiem For The Indifferent
07. Anima
08. Guilty Demeanor
09. Deep Water Horizon
10. Stay The Course
11. Deter The Tyrant
12. Avalanche
13. Serenade Of Self-Destruction

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post