Jun 12

DIO – Magica (Deluxe Edition 2013)



How do you make a longtime DIO fan, a happy fan? By releasing a newly remastered and expanded 2 CD edition of Ronnie James Dio’s grand, and epic conceptual CD “Magica“. The original release from 2000 has been out of print, and increasingly hard to find. But, thanks to Wendy Dio and Niji Entertainment, we now have access to what I consider to be a worthy re-release of a classic album. Some people look at these kind of releases as nothing more than a gratuitous money grab. But this could be nothing further from the truth. It’s been reworked and repackaged to the point of what one might call a “New” release from DIO.

There’s really not much need for a true review of this release. It’s all pretty much been written and said over the years. But, what I’d like to bring to the attention of everyone, is the fact that this release has had a loving hand put to it, and has been re-mastered to bring this up to the audio standards of today.  My god, this release sounds so damn big. With the bottom end elements brought up to give it massive heft. Vocals are more front and center, compared to the original release. Overall, the production does great justice to this being a re-release, as it sounds like a completely new release. I’m sure if Ronnie were alive today, he’d have a huge smile on his face, given the treatment this has received.

The 2-CD Deluxe Edition includes 5 Official Live Bootlegs from the 2000/2001 “Magica” Tour, 2 additional Bonus Tracks, a new 20 page booklet, a Dio Postcard, new liner notes, and never before seen photos.

For a 2 CD re-release, this is about the price of a regular new cd release. So go on, go buy this, sit back, crank this up LOUD, and marvel at the master once again in all his magnificence!!




  1. Discovery
  2. Magica Theme
  3. Lord Of The Last day
  4. Fever Dreams
  5. Turn To Stone
  6. Feed My Head
  7. Eriel
  8. Challis
  9. As Long As It’s Not About Love
  10. Losing My Insanity
  11. Otherworld
  12. Magica – Reprise
  13. Lord Of the Last Day – reprise


  1. The Magica Story (Narrated By Ronnie James Dio)
  2. Annica (Japanese Only Bonus Track)
  3. Electra (Recorded For Magica 2 & 3)
  4. Feed My Head (Official Live Bootleg)
  5. Fever Dreams (Official Live Bootleg)
  6. Lord Of the Last Day (Official Live Bootleg)
  7. As Long As It’s Not About Love (Official Live Bootleg)
  8. Losing My Insanity (Official Live Bootleg)

Genre: Heavy Metal

Record Label: Niji Entertainment

Playing Time: CD1 – 52:29  CD2 – 55:22


Ronnie James Dio – Vocals, Keys
Craig Goldie – Guitars, Keys
Jimmy Bain – Bass
Simon Wright – Drums





If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post