May 20

DESPISED ICON premiere music video for “Beast”

DESTRUCTION - Thrash Anthems II

Montreal based deathcore pioneers, DESPISED ICON, will release their Nuclear Blast debut, Beast, on July 22. Today, the band has released the first single and music video from that album, here. The video for “Beast” was shot and directed by Jessy Fuchs (OBEY THE BRAVE, SIMPLE PLAN) for Slam Disques.

“The time has come,” comments the band. “Here it is, our first single in 7 years. We’re overwhelmed by the amount of support we’ve been getting these past few months. Expect to hear more new music in the coming weeks. Much love to the fans. Keep it brutal.”

Pre-order the album now from the Nuclear Blast web shopIndiemerch or Impericon. Pre-order Beast digitally on iTunes and Amazon and receive the title-track instantly.

Beast was produced and engineered by former guitarist Yannick St-Amand (Beneath The Massacre, Neuraxis) and mixed/mastered by Andy Sneap (Megadeth, Opeth, Nevermore). Artwork was created by Alexandre Goulet. Check out the album teaser for Beast here.

Beast track list:
01. The Aftermath
02. Inner Demons
03. Drapeau Noir
04. Bad Vibes
05. Dedicated To Extinction
06. Grind Forever
07. Time Bomb
08. One Last Martini
09. Doomed
10. Beast

For many extreme music fans, it may be hard to remember a time before DESPISED ICON, given the massive influence they’ve subsequently had on the genre. But when the group formed back in 2002 and released Consumed by Your Poison the same year, there was little intersection between the sounds of classic death metal and the brute force of hardcore. But DESPISED ICON were among the first to fully embrace the signatures of the traditional death metal formula combined with a relentless embrace of breakdowns, part of an emerging new sound.

Now DESPISED ICON have returned with their upcoming album entitled, Beast. The genre-defining band is fully reawakened, poised to recapture the crown with the monstrous and merciless might of their potent expression. Featuring the men responsible for most of the band’s now classic death metal catalog, Beast is a vicious commentary on the state of the world and the state of music itself.

Visit DESPISED ICON online:


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

BEAST IN BLACK - Berserker

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post