Aug 02

DESPISED ICON – first-week “Beast” chart positions revealed


Montreal based deathcore pioneers, DESPISED ICON, are celebrating their highest first-week sales yet with their new album Beast. After 7 years and in a down music market, the band managed to outdo the first-week sales for their previous release back in 2009, Day Of Mourning.

“Shout-out to the fans for picking up Beast and making this our strongest debut,” stated vocalist Alex Erian. “Your support after all these years gave us the motivation we needed to get back together and create this record.  We’re slowly but surely working on a world tour and hope to see you on the road in the near future.  Keep it brutal,”

Charts (US):

#63 Top Current Albums (Former Billboard Top 200)
#2 Heatseekers
#7 Hard Music
#22 Rock
#13 Independent Current Album

Charts (Canada):

Top Albums – #119 (Canada’s Top 200)
Hard Music – #11

Beast was produced and engineered by former guitarist Yannick St-Amand (Beneath The Massacre, Neuraxis) and mixed/mastered by Andy Sneap (Megadeth, Opeth, Nevermore). Artwork was created by Alexandre Goulet.

For many extreme music fans, it may be hard to remember a time before DESPISED ICON, given the massive influence they’ve subsequently had on the genre. But when the group formed back in 2002 and released Consumed by Your Poison the same year, there was little intersection between the sounds of classic death metal and the brute force of hardcore. But DESPISED ICON were among the first to fully embrace the signatures of the traditional death metal formula combined with a relentless embrace of breakdowns, part of an emerging new sound.

Now DESPISED ICON have returned with their upcoming album entitled, Beast. The genre-defining band is fully reawakened, poised to recapture the crown with the monstrous and merciless might of their potent expression. Featuring the men responsible for most of the band’s now classic death metal catalog, Beast is a vicious commentary on the state of the world and the state of music itself.

Order the album now from the Nuclear Blast web shopIndiemerch or Impericon.

Beast track list:
01. The Aftermath
02. Inner Demons
03. Drapeau Noir
04. Bad Vibes
05. Dedicated To Extinction
06. Grind Forever
07. Time Bomb
08. One Last Martini
09. Doomed
10. Beast

More on Beast:
“Beast” music video 
“The Aftermath” music video
“Bad Vibes” music video
Making “Beast” part 1
Making “Beast” part 2
Making “Beast” part 3
“Inner Demons” band performance

Visit DESPISED ICON online:

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post