May 03

Delain – Interlude (2013)



The Netherlands has become a cradle for symphonic gothic metal bands, they had given us: Epica, Within Temptation, After Forever, and their latest prodigy is Delain. The band is about to release their 4th studio album. Interlude, and their first with their new record label Napalm Records.

Interlude itself is a diverse album that can be seen as an EP with a live mini album on the side. Composed by two new songs Breath On Me and Collars and Suits, which are a more gothic rock mixed with symphonic elements, that carry a more eclectic, and catchy sound that reinforces the path that Delain took with We Are The Others. A new version of Are You Done With Me, and a beautiful ballad version of the song We Are The Others compliment the musical diversity of the band, and show how much Charlotte Wessels had grown as vocalist.

The album also brings us three covers: Such A Shame original of Talk Talk transformed from its original 80’s pop structure into a more melodic rock that fits perfectly with Delain‘s style. Cordell original of The Cranberries, this song goes acoustic, and is nothing Charlotte Wessels has to envy to Dolores O’Riordan‘s voice. A great tribute cover to one of the greatest alternative rock bands of the 90’s. Smalltown Boy original of Brosnky Beat, is a song that talks about homophobia, bullying and family rejection during the 80’s which made the song an anthem for the LGTB community. The song has strong ties with the equality and respect messages that Delain transmitted on We Are The Others.

The second part of the album is composed by six live tracks that the band recorded during their presentation last year at the Metal Female Voices Fest in Belgium. The songs are: Mother Machine, Get The Devil Out Of Me, Milk And Honey, Electricity and Not Enough out of their previous album We Are The Others, and Invidia out of their 2009 release April Rain.

The whole album is a collage that represents the different ways in which Delain can create music, and doing it right. From new songs, new versions, covers and live tracks. Interlude is exactly that a transition between the moment that the band is living now and what the future holds for them. A great album, and a must have for those that love this kind of music and those curious about their music.

Delain will tour North America supporting Kamelot this fall, and with Within Temptation in Europe early next year.



1.  Breathe On Me
2.  Collars And Suits
3.  Are You Done With Me (new single mix)
4.  Such A Shame
5.  Cordell
6.  Smalltown Boy
7.  We Are The Others (new ballad version)
8.  Mother Machine (live)
9.  Get The Devil Out Of Me (live)
10. Milk And Honey (live)
11. Invidia (live)
12. Electricity (live)
13. Not Enough (live)

Genre: Gothic Metal

Label: Napalm Records

Playing Time: 53 minutes

Line Up:
Charlotte Wessels – vocals
Martijn Westerholt – keyboards
Otto Schimmelpenninck – bass
Timo Somers – guitars
Sander Zoer – drums


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post