Jul 05

Darkane – The Sinister Supremacy (2013)



Every time I listen to a new release or a new band from Sweden, I caught myself asking the same question, why Sweden doesn’t list metal as one of their top exporting goods?. They could reach a bigger market if they would do that. Today’s turn is for a veteran band, a band that begun working during the late 90’s, and whose sound is based on the fusion of Thrash Metal and Melodic Death Metal. I am talking of none other than Darkane, and they just released their new album The Sinister Supremacy.

The sound of The Sinister Supremacy is in many ways different to what they did in their last record Demonic Art, not only because their voice on this album is done by the original vocalist of the band Lawrence Mackrory, so at first I had to go back to their first album Rusted Angel to believe that it was actually him on vocals. The result is, well just brutal, raw and merciless thrash/melodic death metal at its best. I love that this band keeps their roots almost intact, tracks like The Sinister Supremacy, Mechanical Divine and By Darkness Designed are my personal favorites. Just fast thrash riffs, with a brutal voice.

Darkane, has been in and out of the metal spotlight for quite a bit, but they make sure to come back with a blast. Ostracized and The Decline are some of those melodic death metal songs that just let you wondering, where these Swedes learn to execute this type of music so well?. My bet is that is some sort of conservatory dedicated to melodic death metal improvement. The melodies, the riffs, the vocals are just amazing. Existence Is Just A State Of Mind and Hate Repetance State, are just fantastic songs with little symphonic and progressive parts that would make you think, where that come from. A real treat if you love thrash and melodic death metal, and always wanted to have both of those genres on a single album.

Overall Darkane returns with a kick ass album, a stable line up, and the promise to create more sick music in the future. Also if you caught yourself looking at the cover art too much, let us know what you see, it might be just your internal Sinister Supremacy trying to break free.



01. Sounds Of Pre-Exsistence
02. The Sinister Supremacy
03. Mechanically Divine
04. Ostracized
05. The Decline
06. Insurrection Is Imminent
07. In The Absence Of Pain
08. Humanity Defined
09. Hate Repentance State
10. Collapse Of Illusions
11. By Darkness Designed
12. Existence Is Just A State Of Mind

Genre: Thrash/Melodic Death Metal

Record Label: Prosthetic Records

Playing Time: 57 minutes

Line Up:

Lawrence Mackrory – Vocals
Christofer Malmström – Guitars
Klas Ideberg – Guitars
Jörgen Löfberg – Bass
Peter Wildoer – Drums



If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post