Jul 02

Chaosweaver – Enter the Realm of the Doppelgänger (2012)


By now I should not be surprised by what Finland produces at the level of metal music, with bands like Amorphis, Nightwish, Children Of Bodom, Norther, and now Chaosweaver to be added at the country’s greatest lineup of metal bands that they had exported during the last 20 years.

They labeled themselves as Cinematic Extreme Metal a blend between symphonic black metal and sci-fi/horror movie soundtrack, The idea might not be the newest thing around, but the concept and the direction that Chaosweaver added to Enter the Realm of the Doppelgänger indeed are. The combination of fierce guitar riffs and somber musical backgrounds on tracks like Wings Of Chaos, Infected, and Ragnarok Sunset is just amazingly good. The album also has some industrial influences on tracks like The Great Cosmic Serpent, Crystal Blue, and Repulsion. The track A Requiem For A Lost Universe has a doom metal kind of vibe that they knew how to adapt to their style.

The voice of Cypher Commander reminds me of the vocal style used back in the late 90’s and early 2000’s, a black metal style of voice that is really unique,  and breaks apart from what other vocalists have done in the past on this genre, I think that is one of the characteristics that makes this band so appealing and fitting to the music they are developing. Is not doubt that Chaosweaver presents a new vision or at least a fresh metal proposal that keeps that 90’s symphonic black metal tradition going on. The Age Of Metal had the chance to speak with Max Power Keyboardist of the band about the album and the band’s concept.


1. A Red Dawn Rises
2. Wings Of Chaos
3. Maelstorm Of Black Light
4. The Great Cosmic Serpent
5. Infected
6. A Requiem For A Lost Universe
7. Crystal Blue
8. Repulsion
9. Ragnarök Sunset

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post