Sep 15

Cannibal Corpse – A Skeletal Domain (2014)



There is a reason Cannibal Corpse is one of my favorite bands of all time. They continue to reinvent their signature brutal sound, yet contain the same slaughtering techniques. The fact that the archetype of the death metal sound is still disfiguring corpses in the most horrendous of ways makes them immortal.

The album starts with one of the strongest songs High Velocity Impact Spatter. The song starts off slow at first, and then gradually starts to get heavier. When George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher’s monstrous vocals come in the song turns into a whole different type of brutality. The song is simple; the tone is aggressive mixed with melodic chords. But the traditional vigorous style Cannibal Corpse has coined makes this song stand out.

My other favorite song is the album’s title track A Skeletal Domain. Like High Velocity Impact Spatter, it starts off very gradual. But unlike that song, A Skeletal Domain has its own abominable vitality. It’s a classic Cannibal Corpse song: rapid drumming, chilling solos, and a violent atmosphere. But rather than compare it to an older Cannibal Corpse song, this one is much more polished and embodies the reinvented Cannibal Corpse we continually hear.

The next song Headlong Into Carnage is another one of my favorites. It’s much swifter than the other songs on the album. Because of this, it contains the most energy. And when the fast energy suddenly becomes slower or a solo comes in, that’s when the backlash hits. This is a perfect example of a successful Cannibal Corpse song.

The next song The Murderer’s Pact is the most unique on the album. The song starts off intense as all Cannibal Corpse songs do; but it’s the solo that hits you. The riffing and drumming is very complex, and with Fisher’s vocals accompanying this extremity it will be sure to knock the air out of you.

Icepick Lobotomy is a song I feel sounds more like older Cannibal Corpse. It combines the melodic riffing with the powerful drumming, and then transforms itself into a virulent beast, Only Cannibal Corpse can achieve this versatile insanity.

The last song on the album Hollowed Bodies really ties in all the songs together. It’s more melodic than any of the other songs; think Condemned to Agony from Bloodthirst. But Hollowed Bodies is much more powerful. The vitality in this track is addictive, it’s much more versatile, yet has that venerable rotten corpse stench of previous Cannibal Corpse material. It is the perfect way to finish this annihilating yet brilliant album.

It is impossible for Cannibal Corpse to write an unsuccessful album. Their sound contains enough crusted blood to where they are illimitable; yet the fresh blood still calls for a grimy atmosphere. All Cannibal Corpse takes a few listens to fully absorb all of the brutality, but when you do you’ll be joining them on their murderous rampage. So raise that bloody axe in the air and start headbanging!

INTERVIEW: Paul Mazurkiewicz of Cannibal Corps


1. High Velocity Impact Spatter
2. Sadistic Embodiment
3. Kill Or Become
4. A Skeletal Domain
5. Headlong Into Carnage
6. The Murderer’s Pact
7. Funeral Cremation
8. Icepick Lobotomy
9. Vector Of Cruelty
10. Bloodstained Cement
11. Asphyxiate To Resuscitate
12. Hollowed Bodies

Genre: Death Metal

Label: Metal Blade Records


George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher – Vocals
Pat O’Brien – GuitarsRob Barret – Guitars
Alex Webster – Bass
Paul Mazurkiewicz – Drums


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post