Aug 12

Bury Your Dead – Mosh ‘N Roll 2011


After having a few tumultuous years, Bury Your Dead are back with a new album titled Mosh ‘N Roll. The band’s original vocalist Mat Bruso has returned to the microphone after being absent on the last two albums, and he sounds absolutely top-notch on this outing. Bruso frequents a more hardcore-shouting style of vocals, and doesn’t actually scream all that much on this CD. It blends well with this album’s stripped down guitar sound. Gang vocals are also used on several tracks, and for the most part to good effect, as on the track ‘Deadeye Dick’.  The standout track on the album is ‘Jailbird’, which has a much raw-er sound than the rest of the album and has a creepy, horror-movie feeling during the breakdown at the end.  Strangely, the title track on this album sounds juvenile – the only lyric to the whole song is “Bury your fucking dead!”. Overall, Bury Your Dead seem to find a formula and stick to it on this album, but it works well and creates a triumphant feeling that flows across tracks.

Track listing:

  1. Slaughterhouse-Five
  2. Nothing is lost Save Honor
  3. Bluebeard
  4. The Sirens of Titan
  5. Deadeye Dick
  6. Timequakes
  7. Sun Moon Star
  8. Slapstick
  9. Mother Nigh
  10. Jailbird
  11. Mosh ‘N Roll


If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post