Mar 14

Audrey Horne – Youngblood (2013)


Many of you haven’t heard of Audrey Horne, aside from you Twin Peaks fans (and no, I’m not talking about the character). Many of their members are from other extremely heavy metal groups (Sahg, Enslaved, etc.) but the music is more of something you’d hear from Sabbath or Thin Lizzy. They just put out a new record called Youngblood. And it’s actually worth your time.

So let’s clear something up right here: if you’re expecting something that’s groundbreaking, go somewhere else. This is not that kind of record, nor does it even try to be. This is classic metal that is no frills whatsoever. Most of the songs here meant to belong, from the opening guitar duet of “Redemption Blues” to the sing-along chorus of “Youngblood” down to the final chorus of “The King is Dead“. All of it is incredibly fitting for either a massive stage or even a dive bar. I can honestly see myself singing along to single “Redemption Blues” with a bunch of my closest friends in a bar. What truly embodies the spirit of metal more than that?

With that said, I’d be lying if there weren’t some little niggles I had. The intro to Pretty Little Sunshine has this drum beat. It’s one of the most generic things I’ve ever heard. Like, that same beat has been used time and time again, and I think it brings the song down a bit. That said, the guitar work of Arve Isdal and Thomas Tofthagen save this song – and are really the highlights of the record. They’re a very natural fit to each other.

This is the perfect album to just jam to. In this day and age, we’re surrounded by a lot of metal that makes us think a bit – especially with the projects that these people in Audrey Horne are in. Much popular metal is complex, and while that is fantastic, sometimes we need to have a little fun. This is what this record is for.


01. Redemption Blues
02. Straight Into Your Grave
03. Youngblood
04. There Goes A Lady
05. Show And Tell
06. Cards With The Devil
07. Pretty Little Sunshine
08. The Open Sea
09. This Ends Here
10. The King Is Dead

Genre: Hard Rock

Record Label: Napalm Records



If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post