Feb 17

Asphyx – Deathhammer (2012)


 The Dutch Classic Death Metal Band Asphyx has returned with their latest release “Deathhammer.”  Originally formed back in 1987 their last released album was  back in 2009, “Death… The Brutal Way.”  Fans have been long  awaiting this album with anticipation of a classic.  The current band  line up is made up of Martin Van Drunen (Vocals), Paul Baayens (Guitar), Alwin Zuur (Bass), Bob Bagchus (Drums).

“Into The Timewastes,” kicks the album off!  The first track off the record wakes you up with its speed and brutality.  Back old classic death metal roots this song is in your face & will make you bang your head.  The next song on the album keeps things fast with the titled track “Deathhammer,” it’s a great song off the cd.  The third song “Minefield,” slows things down with a heavy guitar intro and deep vocals that sets a very ominous tone throughout the whole track. The next two songs  that follow are “Of Days When Blades Turned Blunt” & “Der Landser” both good songs that keep things moving.

“Reign Of The Brute,” the sixth song off the album an awesome aggressive track with killer drums and vocals.  “The Flood” is definitely a catchy song that people can get into.  Its one of those songs that stays stuck in your head for days but you enjoy every minute of it. Just as its name “We Doom You To Death,” creates a very dark atmosphere that gives you the sensation of death, despair and doom.  “Vespa Crabro,” starts with a blast. It’s a very in your face song the second it begins. The last song off the album “As The Magma Mammoth Rises,” has some great classic guitar rifts and calms things down and brings the album to a close.  Great song to close things with.

Asphyx’s release of “Deathhammer” is a perfect example of an old school death metal band demonstrating they still got it.  The album is good sounds classic and brings something to the table.  Everyone of their fans awaiting this release won’t be disappointed.

We talked a couple weeks ago with Martin Van Drunen about the new album Here

Track List (personal picks*)

1. Into The Timewastes
2. Deathhammer
3. Minefield
4. Of Days When Blades Turned Blunt
5. Der Landser
6. Reign Of The Brute*
7. The Flood*
8. We Doom You To Death
9. Vespa Crabro
10. As The Magma Mammoth Rises*




If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post