Oct 18

Arjen Lucassen talked about The Theory Of Everything with The Age Of Metal



Since the announcement made by Arjen Lucassen last year that he was working on a new Ayreon album, the expectation and excitement among fans have been high in reference of, What it could be this time? What new adventures this album would bring? And what musical boundaries he would break this time?.

Well all those questions will be answered on October 29th once the new Ayreon album titled The Theory Of Everything gets released upon the world. The Theory Of Everything is composed by 42 tracks (the answer to the ultimate question of life, the universe, and everything in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, A reference recognized by Arjen Lucassendivided into 4 parts of about 20 minutes each that tells the story of a prodigy boy, his mother, his eccentric scientist father, the psychiatrist, and the evil rival. The approximate hour and a half length of the album is a whole emotional ride filled with the most epic music that Arjen Lucassen has created so far.

As many of you know Ayreon always brings the most talented rock & metal musicians that made the heart of the story, and added that special touch to this musical project, and this time it’s not different. Arjen Lucassen this time brought on board to the Ayreon machine the best out of the best.


Vocalists (in order of appearance):

JB (Grand Magus) as The Teacher
Sara Squadrani (Ancient Bards) as The Girl
Michael Mills (Toehider) as The Father
Cristina Scabbia (Lacuna Coil) as The Mother
Tommy Karevik (Kamelot/Seventh Wonder) as The Prodigy
Marko Hietala (Nightwish/Tarot) as The Rival
John Wetton (King Crimson/Asia) as The Psychiatrist

Ed Warby (Ayreon/Star One/ Hail The Bullets)-drums
Rick Wakeman (Yes) – keyboards
Keith Emerson (Emerson Lake & Palmer) – keyboards
Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater)– keyboards
Steve Hackett (Genesis)  – lead guitar
Troy Donockley (Nightwish)– Uilleann pipes and low flute
Arjen Anthony Lucassen -electric and acoustic guitars, bass guitar, mandolin and keyboards.
(Ben Mathot -violins, Maaike Peterse -cellos, Jeroen Goossens – flute , bass flute, piccolo, bamboo flute and contrabass flute, Siddharta Barnhoorn – orchestrations, Michael Mills – Irish Bouzouki)

After listening to the whole album I could only say that this might be the biggest contender to be THE album of the year. The music, the emotion, the talent, and the story makes of The Theory Of Everything more than another progressive metal record, it will make you live the story along with the characters as they struggle and confront life. Definitely a must have for those who love well crafted music.

The Age Of Metal had the pleasure to speak with the mastermind behind Aryeon, Arjen Lucassen himself. We talked about The Theory Of Everything, the concept, the guesses, the inspiration, and much more.



Interview with Arjen Lucassen of Ayreon by Theageofmetal on Mixcloud

If you enjoyed this article, Get email updates (It’s Free)

ANTHRAX - Kings Among Scotland

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post